ICZN Commission

Robin Leech releech at TELUSPLANET.NET
Fri Nov 23 21:37:23 CST 2001

Take a peek in the 4th edition of the ICZN, effective as of 1 Jan 2000, and
you will see that the president is Alessandro Minelli (of Italy) and the
previous president was Otto Kraus (of Germany), and that that the Chairman
of the Editorial Committee is WDL Ride (Australia).  Other members are HG
Cogger (Australia), C Dupuis (France), O Kraus (Germany), A Minelli (Italy),
FC Thompson (US) and PK Tubbs (UK).
These people are nominated and appointed (in this case, in Canberra).  On
page XIV, low centre, you will see how things happened.  That is, who was
appointed originally, who stepped down, etc.
Robin Leech

----- Original Message -----
From: "Sabina F Swift" <sabina at HAWAII.EDU>
Sent: Friday, November 23, 2001 8:22 PM
Subject: ICZN Commission

> Aloha,
> Two days ago I gave a lecture on the International Code of Zoological
> Nomenclature to a systematics class and one of the questions asked was:
> Who selected the members of the International Commission and were there
> criteria in
> the selection of delegates to the Commission?  I/m sure there were
> criteria but what are they?  My question is: Are members of non-English
> speaking systematists/zoologists ever become part of the Commission?
> I will appreciate input from anyone on these questions.
> Thanks.
> Sabina
> ____________________________________
> Sabina F. Swift
> Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences
> University of Hawaii at Manoa
> 3050 Maile Way, Gilmore 310
> Honolulu, Hawaii 96822-2271
> Phone: (808) 956-2445
> Fax: (808) 956-2428
> E-mail: sabina at hawaii.edu

More information about the Taxacom mailing list