Angiosperm classification completed

Ken Kinman kinman at HOTMAIL.COM
Thu Apr 24 03:38:33 CDT 2003

Dear All,
     I will probably be leaving Taxacom toward the end of May (for an
indefinite period), so I decided I'd better finish my preliminary
reclassification of flowering plants.  As you may recall, I presented a
revised classification of the basal dicots here on Taxacom in May 2002, and
a revised classification of monocots in July 2002.
     Below I have completed the preliminary reclassification by adding in
the rest of the eudicot orders, but the coding is less certain for them.
Note that the rosids are simply divided into a polytomy (of groups of
orders) indicated by the repeated coding symbol "A" within in Clade 10.
     As always feedback is encouraged, and  especially suggestions on
cladistically coding the rosid groupings.  And for those who may have
forgotten, the symbol % indicates that Magnoliopsidea is singly paraphyletic
(with one {{marker}}), and %% indicates that Magnoliales is doubly
paraphyletic (which thus has two {{markers}}).  And anyone who doesn't like
my standardized -ea endings (for class taxa) can simply change the -opsidea
to -opsida.  Only the two traditional classes are recognized, since they are
just as useful today as they were in the past (if it isn't broke, don't fix
      Magnoliales below is slightly more expanded than that of Thorne's
already broad usage, and Poales is reduced from the overexpanded (in my
opinion) usage of the APG (Angiosperm Phylogeny Group).  I have explained
those decisions previously.  Hopefully all the Orders will line up in a
column, but some computer programs will inevitably mess up the alignment
(the coding and standard endings should make the correct alignment apparent
if any misalignment does occur).
        ------- Cheers,  Ken Kinman

1 Magnoliopsidea% (dicots)
      1 Magnoliales%%
            1  Amborellaceae
            2  Nymphaeaceae
            3  Austrobaileyaceae
            B  Trimeniaceae
            C  Illiciaceae
            D  Schisandraceae
            4  Ceratophyllaceae
            B  {{Ranunculales, etc.}}
                   (= "eudicots")
            5  Chloranthaceae
            6  {{Liliopsida}} (= monocots)
            7  Lactoridaceae
            ?  Hydnoraceae
            B  Aristolochiaceae
            C  Piperaceae
            D  Saururaceae
            8  Canellaceae
            B  Winteraceae
            9  Calycanthaceae
            B  Gomortegaceae
            C  Monimiaceae
            D  Hernandiaceae
            E  Lauraceae
           10  Myristicaceae
           11  Magnoliaceae
           12  Degeneriaceae
            B  Himantandraceae
           13  Eupomaticaeae
           14  Annonaceae
     _1_ Ranunculales
      2  Proteales
      B  Sabiales
      3  Trochodendrales
      B  Buxales
      4  Gunnerales
     5  Caryophyllales
      B  Dilleniales
      ?  Santalales
      6  Berberidopsidales
      7  Ericales
      B  Cornales
      C  Aquifoliales
      b  Asterales
      c  Apiales
      d  Dipsacales
      D  Garryales
      E  Gentianales
      F  Solanales
      ?  Boraginales
      G  Lamiales
      8  Saxifragales
      9  Vitales
     10  Brassicales
      ?  Rafflesiales
      A  Myrtales
      A  Geraniales
      A  Fagales
      A  Zygophyllales

_a_ Liliopsidea (monocots)
      1  Acorales
      2  Alismatales
      3  Dioscoreales
      4  Liliales
      B  Orchidales (= Orchidineae)
      C  Asparagales (sensu Kinman 2002)
      5  Pandanales
      6  Arecales
      7  Zingiberales
      8  Commelinales
      9  Hydatellales
      B  Xyridales
      C  Bromeliales
     10  Poales (sensu Kinman 2002)
           1  Typhaceae
           2  Thurniaceae
           B  Juncaceae
           C  Cyperaceae
           3  Flagellariaceae
           4  Anarthriaceae
           5  Centrolepidaceae
           B  Restionaceae
           6  Joinvilleaceae
           7  Ecdeiocoleaceae
           8  Poaceae

The new MSN 8: smart spam protection and 2 months FREE*

More information about the Taxacom mailing list