Scientific Award for Systematic Zoology

Haszprunar Gerhard haszi at ZSM.MWN.DE
Tue Apr 20 12:06:41 CDT 2004


*Freunde der Zoologischen Staatssammlung M**ü**nchen e.V.***

*6th R. J. H. Hintelmann Scientific Award for Zoological Systematics*

Established by Mrs. Elisabeth Hintelmann

in memory of her husband Robert J. H. Hintelmann

For outstanding achievements in zoological systematics, phylogenetics,
faunistics or zoogeography the association "Freunde der Zoologischen
Staatssammlung München e.V." has the pleasure to announce the /6th
R.J.H. Hintelmann Scientific Award/. The first prize was awarded 2000 to
Dr. M.-O. Rödel, Würzburg,  the second in 2001 to Dr. M. Jaschhof,
Greifswald,  the third in 2002 to Dr. J. Spelda, Stuttgart,  the fourth
in 2003 to Dr. M. Balke, London,  the fifth in 2004 to Dr. Shen-Horn
Yen, Taiwan. The prize has the value of Euro 5,000.- and  its target
group are preferably young post-graduate scientists.

This prize is awarded not only in appreciation of the previous
scientific performance of the applicant, but the prize-winnerr will also
be given the opportunity to continue his/her research work in
coordination with the Zoologische Staatssammlung München (ZSM). This may
be carried out either by visiting the ZSM or by being provided with ZSM
materials for work elsewhere. The /6th R.J.H. Hintelmann Scientific
Award/ will be presented in January 2005 during a ceremony at the ZSM in
Munich, where the prize-winner has to provide a short lecture on his/her
research topics.

Nominations may name any young post-graduate scientist with outstanding
performance in the fields mentioned above. The pertaining proposal or
application should provide an account of the candidate's scientific
achievement. In addition, curriculum vitae, list of publications, and
selected reprints (not more than five) have to be submitted. The
submitted documents remain with the awarding association.

Candidates may be nominated by any zoologist; self-nomination and
repetitive application in several years are also possible.

 The prize-holder is elected on absolute majority basis by a jury
appointed by the executive committee of the "Freunde der Zoologischen
Staatssammlunge e.V." Depending on the quality of applications the
association reserves the right to withhold the award in any given year.

Please send *applications *or *nominations* until *July 15^th 2004 *to
the following address:

Freunde der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München e.V.

/R. J. H. Hintelmann-Wissenschaftspreis/

Münchhausenstrasse 21

D-81247 Munich, Germany

         For further information please contact:  freunde at

Munich, April 2004

Dear Colleagues,

please spread the information above to all potential candidates. The award is truly international - last winner was Dr. Shen-Horn Yen from Taiwan - and well funded (5.000,- Euro equals about 6.000,- US$). Thank you in advance.

Gerhard Haszprunar

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haszprunar
Systematische Zoologie, GeoBio-Center/LMU
Direktor, Zoologische Staatssammlung München
Münchhausenstrasse 21
D-81247 München, Germany
Tel.: (089) 8107-104, Fax: (089) 8107-300
e-mail: haszi at

- a multidisciplinary journal in systematics

More information about the Taxacom mailing list