[Taxacom] J.O. Westwood Medal with Marsh Prize for Excellence in Insect Taxonomy

Gaimari, Stephen@CDFA stephen.gaimari at cdfa.ca.gov
Thu Sep 20 14:27:05 CDT 2018

(sent on behalf of Shaun Winterton)
Call for nominations.

Please note that the closing date for nominations for the Westwood Medal in Insect Taxonomy is closing soon. Eligibility and award details are outlined below. We are looking forward to seeing nominations in recognition of excellence in insect/arthropod taxonomic monography. For more information, please see the website or contact me off list.


Dr Shaun L Winterton

California State Collection of Arthropods,
California Department of Food & Agriculture,
3294 Meadowview Rd. Sacramento, California,
USA 95832-1148
phone: +1 916 738 6686; mobile: +1 916 599 0810
Editor-in-Chief: Systematic Entomology Twitter: @syenres

Award Criteria

The best comprehensive taxonomic work on a group of insects, or, related arthropods (including terrestrial and freshwater hexapods, myriapods, arachnids and their relatives). Typically, this will be a taxonomic revision or monograph. Open to authors from any country who demonstrate the highest standards of descriptive taxonomy in the work nominated.

Download information flyer here<https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__www.royensoc.co.uk_sites_default_files_RES-2520MCT-2520J-2520O-2520Westwood-2520Award-2520Flyer-2520-25281-2D18-2529-2520-2D-25201.pdf&d=DwMFaQ&c=Cu5g146wZdoqVuKpTNsYHeFX_rg6kWhlkLF8Eft-wwo&r=-lUMCZ4RK28H4qvcd3vmEBuyVJHHG0OpDzFenR9wX-A&m=uHFCt2OEhvTXWlWzDiOOR1CbHwH6o7W9e0vyobE9_7Q&s=1sJAdkQ_NpmDbyfJYupqYwmSKlFHvFCsup2xDPHp1xg&e=>


A specially struck silver gilt medal inscribed with the winners name and £1000 prize from the Marsh Christian Trust. Also costs incurred in attending the International Congress of Entomology, European Congress of Entomology, or other major meeting (specified by the adjudicators) to present their work.


Any individual or group whose work meets the criteria and who is/are living at the time the work is submitted for consideration.


Annual, entries accepted up to 30th September in the year preceding the awarding year.


By a selection panel consisting of senior and international RES Fellows.


By nominating letter from the author(s) themselves or other nominator, accompanied by two letters of support and three copies of the work, sent to, Westwood Medal, Royal Entomological Society, The Mansion House, Chiswell Green Lane, St Albans, Herts, AL2 3NS, UK, or electronically to westwood at royensoc.co.uk<mailto:westwood at royensoc.co.uk>

More information about the Taxacom mailing list