[Taxacom] Reminder of Symbiota2 webinar tomorrow

Mary Barkworth Mary.Barkworth at usu.edu
Tue Jun 1 12:33:01 CDT 2021


Next Symbiota2 Feedback Webinar: Wednesday, June 2 at 10.30 am MDT
Location: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82515787249
(= 11.30 pm in Altai Kral, Russia; 9.30 pm in Pakistan; 7.30 pm in East Africa; 6.30 pm in Egypt, Sudan, and Sout Africa; 5.30 pm in the UK; 12.30 pm EDT, 11.30 am in CDT, 9.30 am in Arizona and PDT).

Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Dear Colleagues,
The Symbiota2 project team invites you to attend a zoom webinar about the Symbiota2 project on Wednesday, June 2 at 10.30 am. The project's goal is to make Symbiota software easier to develop and use while increasing its functionality.
To achieve Symbiota2's goals, its developers have overhauled the Symbiota code. The fundamental restructuring is now almost complete, and the project has reached the point where feedback from developers and end-users would be beneficial. Hence this invitation.
We held the first feedback session on May 10. The links below will allow you to review that session and find the various resources mentioned.
Session recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhlHlOwLN5c&t=889s
Curtis Dyreson and Evin started the session with a brief introduction to the project. This was followed by an open discussion, during which several useful comments and suggestions were made.
Demonstration websites
Frontend (user interface) demo: https://demo.symbiota2.org/
Backend (raw data access) demo: https://api.demo.symbiota2.org/docs/
Code: https://gitlab.com/symbiota2/symbiota2 (check out the README for developer-centric info).
Issues: https://gitlab.com/symbiota2/symbiota2/-/issues (several have been added since the feedback session).
Like the first webinar session, the Jun 2 session will be minimally structured so as to encourage feedback and interaction.
Please share this message with anyone you think might be interested, including IT specialists and developers with whom you work on collection data mobilization.
Sincerely,
Mary Barkworth for the Symbiota2 Project team
Curtis Dyreson, Neil Cobb, Will Pearse, Evin Dunn, Darius Dumel

More on Symbiota
What is Symbiota software? It is software with a relatively low learning curve that has been invaluable in mobilizing and sharing data from natural history collections ranging in size from fewer than 500 specimens to over 8 million. The software is used to create networks of collections having a similar regional and taxonomic scheme theme. Contributing collections may enter directly into the network's database, either online or by uploading a csv file generated from a spreadsheet or by mapping and uploading a csv filed generate from their database to the network's database. The networks integrate specimen data from their participating collections with images of living organisms, illustrations, and descriptions. Tools in Symbiota use these resources in ways that increase the value of the specimen data to researchers, educators, and the public. Within a network, data management is centralized, removing the need for each collection to have an IT specialist. Symbiota also makes it easy to publish a collection's specimen data and images to GBIF.



More information about the Taxacom mailing list